Preakness 2019 Post Positions: Most Current Chances, Historic Stats for Each Slot

BALTIMORE, MARYLAND - MAY 16: Improbable trains on the track during a training session for the upcoming Preakness Stakes at Pimlico Race Course on May 16, 2019 in Baltimore, Maryland. (Photo by Rob Carr/Getty Images)

Rob Carr/Getty Images

After possibly the most questionable Kentucky Derby in history, attention now shifts to the Preakness Stakes on Saturday at Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore.

Neither Optimum Security who was disqualified at the Derby nor Nation House, the ultimate winner, will race at the Preakness, hence getting rid of any possibility of a Triple Crown.

In Spite Of all that, there is still some intrigue at the 144 th edition of the Preakness.

Trainer Bob Baffert is seeking a record-breaking eighth success in the race as he sends Unlikely back out to the track after a fourth-place surface at Churchill Downs.

In reality, three other horses from the Kentucky Derby War of will (seventh), Win (ninth), Bodexpress (13 th) will likewise race at Pimlico.

Post Position and Chances

1. War of Will 4-1

2. Bourbon War 12 -1

3. Warriors Charge 12 -1

4. Improbable 5-2

5. Owendale 10 -1

6. Market King 30 -1

7. Alwaysmining 8-1

8. Signalman 30 -1

9. Bodexpress 20 -1

10 Everfast 50 -1

11 Laughing Fox 20 -1

12 Anothertwistafate 6-1

13 Win 15 -1

Via Daily Racing Forum

Historical Stats for Each Slot

No. 1

American Pharoah won out of the inside rail in 2015, however traditionally this is one of, if not the worst position to be offered at the Preakness.

Prior to the Baffert horse who went on to win the Triple Crown, an entrant in the No. 1 slot had not won because Tabasco Feline in1994 Before that, it was Stomach Pains in 1960.

Regardless of the lack of history on his side, War of Will still has the second-best chances in the race out of this position at 4-1.

No. 2

The 2nd post position has been much kinder than the very first, producing 12 winners in the history of the Preakness, consisting of the 2017 champion Cloud Computing, who got in at 13 -1 odds in a race that has actually mostly gone chalk in current years.

However, most of those winners came long back. Prior to Cloud Computing the last horse to win out of the No. 2 slot was Snow Chief in1986

No. 3

The third slot has actually also produced 12 winners, with the most current being California Chrome in 2014.

Prior to that was Prairie Bayou in 1993, which capped a run of five Preakness winners in between 1980-93 coming from the 3rd slot before the dry spell started.

No. 4

The No. 4 area has been among the more effective draws with 13 champions. Curlin was the most recent in 2007 while Red Bullet won it in 2000, but they have been the only two winners from the 4th slot since 1992, which was the last time any post position produced back-to-back winners.

This year, Preakness favorite Improbable will begin at the fourth slot at 5-2 chances and might become its 14 th winner.

No. 5

The fifth slot has been kind in recent history, the only position to produce numerous winners this years.

Exaggerator was the most recent winner in 2016, while Shackleford won the race in 2011 out of the No. 5 spot. Owenadale wants to catch a few of that magic at 10 -1 odds.

No. 6

As we begin to approach the middle of the beginning poles, we begin to see more positions with lots of success.

The No. 6 slot has produced 16 winners, consisting of 4 because 1996, with the most recent being Oxbow in2013 Triple Crown winners Omaha and Affirmed won the Preakness out of this position, too.

No. 7

Nick Wass/Associated Press

Justify was the winner out of this area in 2015 en route to claiming the Triple Crown.

Seven horses have triumphed of this slot sine 1989, which is excellent news for Alwaysmining, who has 8-1 chances.

No. 8

Although we start to start moving to the outside positions, there has actually been some success at No. 8, which has produced 10 Preakness winners.

Bernardini won out of this slot in 2006, which was 4 years after War Emblem did so. Triple Crown winner Seattle Variety also won out of the No. 8 berth.

No. 9

Just 4 horses have triumphed of the ninth slot, but two of them have can be found in the last 20 years.

I’ll Have Another was victorious in 2012, while Amusing Cide won the Preakness from the No. 9 position in2003

No. 10

Everfast currently needs a great deal of luck on his side as the long shot at 50 -1 odds, however his post position is not necessarily the finest, either.

The Preakness has only produced two winners from the No. 10 slot– although, like in 2015, there are not constantly 10 horses in the race– with the last winner being Genuine Peaceful in 1998.

No. 11

This is another difficult position that has just produced 2 winners in the history of the Preakness.

The last to do it was Point Given Up 2001, who was the very first winner out the No. 11 position given that Show in1926 That’s not fantastic news for Laughing Fox at 20 -1.

No. 12

Anothertwistafate has decent odds at 6-1, however the No. 12 position has actually just produced three Preakness winners. The most current remained in 2005, however, which belonged to Afleet Alex.

Prior to that, it was Pleasant Colony in 1981 and Kalitan in1917

No. 13

The final area in the Preakness this year comes from Win at 15 -1.

Just one horse has actually triumphed of this spot and it came relatively just recently, too. Rachel Alexandra won from the outdoors position in 2009 when the filly held off Kentucky Derby winner Mine That Bird by a length to become the first filly considering that 1924 to win the Preakness.

Find Out More